REVIEW: Please, Mr. Panda by Steve Anthony

Title: Please, Mr. Panda
Author: Steve Anthony
Year of Publication: 2014
Genre: Childrens
Format: Hardback
Length: 32 pages
First Line: “Would you like a doughnut?”

Summary: What is the proper way to ask Mr. Panda for doughnuts?

Patiently and politely, Mr. Panda asks the animals he comes across if they would like a doughnut. A penguin, a skunk, and a whale all say yes, but they do not remember to say “please” and “thank you.” Is anyone worthy of Mr. Panda’s doughnuts?

Steve Antony has captured a cute panda, delightful animals hungry for doughnuts, and a manners lesson. With the black-and-white animals, plain backgrounds, and brightly colored doughnuts, Antony’s art is bold, striking, and engaging.

Review: Read this while at B&N. I was attracted by the the adorable cover. I love pandas so a cover with a grumpy panda offering food was a book that I had to read. Got all the way through it and was actually displeased with the end result of the book.

Please, Mr. Panda is a book to teach kids to say please and thank you. Through-out the story, Mr. Panda offers various animals doughnuts that he had. The animal would say something like ‘yes, I would like the pink doughnut’. Then Mr. Panda would rudely walk away saying that’d he didn’t want to give away his doughnuts after all, leaving crying whales in his wake. Finally, Mr. Panda asks a lemur if he’d like some of his doughnuts. The lemur responds yes, please, I’d like a doughnut. Mr. Panda gives him the entire box of doughnuts because he actually hates them.

Mr. Panda is a dick.

I totally understand how this is supposed to be a please and thank you teaching story, but honestly, the other animals did nothing wrong in answering Mr. Panda’s business proposal. He’s a dick who makes whales cry. Plus, I don’t think anyone said thank you in the story. Mr. Panda certainly didn’t.

My hubby wanted me to mention however (and I agree with him), that the illustration was great. Everything was bright, colorful, and the style is very humorous.

This book reminds me of I Want My Hat Back, but isn’t as clever or funny.

While reading the story, at first I was thinking of getting it for my hubby’s little cousin. But by the end I wasn’t as thrilled since it does a poor job at teaching kids to say please and thank you. Plus the the $16.99 price tag. Yeah, thanks but no, Mr. Panda.

Worst part: Poor job at teaching please and thank you

Best part: The illustrations

Grade: C

Recommend For: Fans of ‘I Want My Hat Back’

Other Books by This Author: The Queen’s Hat and Betty Goes Bananas

Leave a Reply

