Blog Tour- Statistic by Dawn Robertson

Synopsis:
Love.
Betrayal.
Deception.
Attempted Murder.
Aurora Alexander is everything headlines are made of.

Newly divorced single mother Aurora Alexander is trying to move on with her life.
After a string of unsuccessful blind dates, she turns to internet dating.
Everyone does it, so it has to be safe. Right?

Wrong.

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://goo.gl/MZVNfP B&N: http://goo.gl/MEQmNf
Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21902364-statistic?from_search=true

statistic1

statisticnew

I RECEIVED A FREE COPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW.

Title: Statistic
Author: Dawn Robertson
Year of Publication: 2014
Genre: New Adult, Mystery
Format: Ebook
Length: 159 pages
First Line: “What makes a person tick?”

Review: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.

This was one of those books that I am going to keep thinking about long after I’ve finished.

Statistic was my first Dawn Robertson novel. I purposefully held off on reading her other books because I thought Statistic was going to be something special. I think I was right.

What drew me in was the cover. It’s breathtaking and tragic. The woman’s mascara is running and she’s staring right at you. I also think this book is poorly covered. When I look at this cover I think that this is a sci-fi novel. The art had a futuristic look to it since the woman seemed to melting or drowning in a pink liquid. The art along with the title of Statistic makes me think sci-fi.

Well, what genre is this book then? I found that hard to pinpoint. It’s like a mesh of New Adult/Romance/Dark/Suspense. That might sound confusing but it’s pretty great actually. You are reading a mystery novel that has romance and a new adult novel that has suspense. It’s a little of everything. In my blog I categorized it as both mystery and new adult just to keep myself sane.

Despite the heavy content, I was surprised to find that Statistic was a quick read. The flow of Dawn’s writing is very smooth and natural. Sometimes, when I read darker material I struggle to read it because of the events in the novel. But Dawn was able to make you feel at ease. Which was amazing on another level because of the story’s plot with becoming too close to people you meet online and on dating sites.

I loved how Dawn put in little modern touches like how the kids were watching The Lego Movie or Aurora going through her morning ritual of checking all of her social media sites– something I think most of us do. Also I assumed that Statistic took place in the Southern United States even though it was never stated nor did the characters speak in Southern accents. I came to this conclusion because Aurora drank and even offered to guests sweet tea. If you’re above the Mason Dixon line, you probably don’t understand what sweet tea is. I appreciate sweet tea because I literally moved north one state and when I asked for sweet tea in restaurants, people looked at me funny and thought I meant unsweetened tea with Splendla or something. Alas, no. It was tiny touches like those that made the novel pop for me.

There was a mystery through-out the novel for the reader to guess who His is. I had a good feeling I knew who he was early on and ended up being accurate. That didn’t take away from my reading enjoyment however. I loved the His chapters. I craved them. His reminded me of the Elliot Rodger type. There is a twist at the end and it’s quite lovely.

I think this is a must-read for those who like mystery/suspense. This will be going on my list of best books of 2014.

Worst part: Probably the cover art

Best part: Really smooth quick read

Grade: B

Recommend For: Mystery readers. Anyone who hasn’t read Dawn Robertson.

Other Books by This Author: Hers and Finding Willow

statisticnew2

statisticteaser3

Leave a Reply

