REVIEW: Shaun the Sheep: The Flock Factor by Martin Howard

I RECEIVED A FREE COPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW.

Title: Shaun the Sheep: The Flock Factor
Author: Martin Howard
Year of Publication: 2014
Genre: Childrens
Format: Ebook
Length: 77 pages
First Line: “Shaun sniffed the stench wafting from the pigsty and leaned against the wall.”

Summary: Who will rock the talent show, chickens or sheep? Characters from Shaun the Sheep step from screen to page in the first of an original illustrated fiction series.

It’s talent-show time on the farm, and the roosters and chickens are banding together in hopes of beating out their rivals, the sheep. Meanwhile, Shirley, a sheep whose flair for singing is as large as her frame, has a big problem — a massive case of stage fright. Can Shaun the sheep convince his jittery friend to wow the mole judges and take home the prize? Shaun the Sheep fans both old and new will flock to this funny, original story inspired by the internationally popular animated TV show.

Review: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.

Shaun the Sheep: Flock Factor won’t be released until November 2014 as of July 2014. It feels super early to put up a review for this book, but the publisher put up an ARC on Net Galley.

A huge con to the publisher putting this book up for review on Net Galley so early was that the artwork, a key piece to any childrens book, was actually incomplete. All of the art was marked as ‘SKETCHES–FINAL ART TO COME’. That’s great, but doesn’t help me to review this one bit.

What I quite enjoyed about Flock Factor was that it seemed and even read like a very plausible episode for Shaun the Sheep. I could very well see this happening. Which in the end, kind of had an odd down side to it as well. Since it is a plausible episode, and an average story from Shaun the Sheep is about 5 or so minutes, you start to get this annoyed feeling like why is it taking so long to get through something that could have been done in 5 minutes? Also the author tried to emulate the style of Shaun the Sheep with the descriptions and such. But it is clear that it works much better on screen than on paper.

Worst part: It was a bad call on the publisher to give out an ARC for a childrens chapter book without the final artwork.

Best part: That I could easily picture this being an episode.

Grade: C

Recommend For: Fans of Shaun the Sheep or Timmy Time.

Other Books by This Author: Germs!: An Epic Tale on a Tiny Scale! and Witches at War!: The Wickedest Witch

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s