Blog Tour- Not Another Soldier by Samanatha Holt- Author Interview + Review

NASbanner

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: Not Another Solider
Author: Samantha Holt
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Suspense
Release Date: 17th January 2014

BLURB

I’ve just buried my husband. I was going to divorce him and now he’s dead.

After five years as a military wife, Sienna is moving on. She’s keen to leave behind the misery of her marriage to Rob but for some reason the past won’t let her go. It doesn’t help that her closest friend, Nick, is also a soldier. Unfortunately Sienna is struggling to deny her attraction to the sexy marine, even knowing there can be no future in it. When the injured soldier admits he wants her just as badly, and has always wanted her, the fight to control her feelings becomes harder.

And now she’s learning things about her late husband that surprise even her. When the secrets of Rob’s life come to light, Sienna finds herself involved with some very nasty people and Nick is determined to protect her, no matter what.

As the danger grows to both her heart and her life, Sienna needs to decide if it was the army that was the problem or her late husband. Is Nick worth the heartache of being a military spouse again? And will he be able to protect her from the ring of drug dealers slowly closing in?

BUY LINKS

AMAZON KINDLE | GOODREADS

EXCERPT

Drawing in a breath, I open the door. Hopefully Nick’s all settled and I won’t even have to—

He’s sitting on my bed.

Damn the man. He studies me, slow and languorously, and I flex my fingers, longing to splay my hands across myself. My simple PJs now feel sexy and I’m definitely showing off too much skin.

“Can I—” I cough. “Is everything okay?”

Nick nods slowly, his eyes saying everything is more than okay. My skin heats and I hope he can’t see the redness that’s no doubt in my cheeks and on my chest.

“Yeah,” he says finally, gaze lingering on my bare legs. “I just wanted to make sure you were okay.”

“I’m fine.”

Though I don’t sound fine. Having your heart going the same rate as a freight train or your blood boiling beneath your skin probably isn’t fine. But that wasn’t what he meant.

He doesn’t look convinced.

“It’s been a crazy day and I am a little shaken but I’m okay, I swear. I just need a little rest and I need to get this place back to normal and then I’ll be great.”

Nick takes a moment to study me once more and stands. “All right. Just checkin’.”

“Oh.” I go to my closet. “Here’s some blankets.” I draw out two old ones that I usually use if the temperature drops and pass them over.

“Thanks.” He takes them from me.

“Do you need something to sleep in?” I bend down and rummage through the bottom drawer. “I might have some old T-shirts.” I find one and come up to standing.

His eyes are wary and he looks tense, slightly like he’s going to explode at any moment.

Baffled, I thrust out the T-shirt. “It’s one of Rob’s. I don’t know why I still have them really. Or would it be weird wearing his stuff?” He doesn’t respond so I hesitate before turning around and chucking the T-shirt back in the drawer. That was a stupid idea. “Sorry, guess it would be.”

With a wry laugh, he nods. “Yeah, I don’t want to be wearing his stuff, but I got to tell you, babe, I’m more worried about your night clothes.”

“What?”

“If you’re sleeping like that,” he motions with one hand down me, “then it’s going to make me sleeping there,” now he points to the couch, “a real trial. ‘Cause when you bend over in those shorts, all I want to do is take you to bed and peel them from you.”

AUTHOR INTERVIEW

Hello, Mrs. Holt! Are you comfortable?

Hi and thank you for having me! I am pretty comfortable though I’ve got to tell you, I’ve just been doing a new workout and I’m not entirely sure I’ll manage to get up out of this chair again. You may be stuck with me!

2. Describe your writing process.

Uh…sit and write? I try to make it sound like there’s some kind of plan but there isn’t really. I pour a coffee and I sit and try to ignore Facebook. I might write out a loose plan. And a lot of the time I will sit and cry because I’m convinced I’ve just written complete rubbish!

3. How much research goes into a typical book?

It varies. If it’s set in a new place, if it’s not part of a series perhaps, then I will need to do quite a bit to begin with. A lot of it is just pulling up pictures to visualize the place or digging up an old map so I can pin point it. This is helpful if there’s any journeys being made. With Not Another Soldier, most of the research was comparing US military life to UK life and picking my American editor’s brains. Although changing the spellings and using the correct words was fairly easy, I didn’t realize quite how differently our dialogue flowed.

4. What is the toughest part about being an author? What’s the greatest reward?

The lows are the toughest part. It happens a lot. A bad review, a hard day writing…almost anything can trigger a low. It’s easy to get frustrated and believe you’re wasting your time. The greatest reward has to be when someone tells you they loved your book, whether it’s a review or a Facebook comment.

5. Usually, you write medieval romances focusing on highlanders. Why the switch to a modern day military romance?

It was something I’d been thinking of doing for a little while. I actually read more contemporary romance than historical. I’m not even sure why I started it but I had a scene in my head and it went from there. I loved doing it. It was scary for me, being such a leap in another direction, but I have a need to push myself. I think even if it flopped, at least I’d tried something new and hopefully, learned from it.

6. How much of NOT ANOTHER SOLDIER is inspired by real life since your husband used to be in the military?

A lot of it is in a way. Sienna’s experiences are based on some of the worst moments of being a military wife. But also her happy ending is based on some of the best. I wanted to put across how much of a sarcirifce the families make too and I hope I did that. There are also tiny snippets from our life in there. The scene by the lake was inspired by where I met my husband! This is probably the first book I’ve ever really put myself into.

7. Do you think there will be anymore modern day romances or non medieval works in the future?

Yes! I’m working on my next contemporary one too. I’ve no idea what sort of balance I will have, i.e. whether I’ll be writing more contemporary stuff than medieval, but I plan to do both from now on.

8. Ever think of coming to the States for an author event? We’d love to meet you!

Oh God, I would love to! That is definitely on the cards one day. At the moment, my children—and husband probably LOL—need me around too much. I’m not entirely sure what I would come back to if I left them :/

9. This is probably the most important question of all. Would you rather fight one horse sized duck or one hundred duck sized horses?

Oh definitely one hundred duck sized horses. Firstly, I have a mean kick. I’m pretty sure I’d have a good chance using my feet, and secondly, I hate ducks. One bit me when I was little! My mother insisted ducks can’t bite because they don’t have teeth but have you seen how hard their beaks are? I was only trying to give it some bread too. So yes… definitely the horses LOL

10. Is there a question you wish I had asked? If so, what is it and what’s the answer?

Honestly, I can’t think of one! I’m just glad you didn’t ask me what I do when I don’t write! I always get that one and I never know what to say. I’m like ‘uh…not writing? What’s that?’.

BOOK REVIEW

I RECEIVED A FREE COPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW.

Format: Ebook

Length: 312 pages

First Line: “I watch as they lower his coffin into the ground.”

Review: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.

Something I found rather intriguing about NOT ANOTHER SOLDIER was that it doesn’t take that long to read. I tended to read it in short bursts, lasting around 20 minutes-40 minutes or so each time. But every time I was like, hey, I’ve just read 15%-20% of this book! Sweet!

I enjoyed Sienna and Nick’s relationship quite a bit. It is realistic. There are plenty of ups and downs, hot moments, fights, cries, etc. Holt did her best to make her characters as real as possible. Sienna tears herself apart throughout the novel, even going as far as calling herself a horrible bitch.

“I’m such a bitch. A dumb, horrible bitch.”

The head hopping was a big con for me. Nick and Sienna’s point of views switch often, usually within a chapter. I thought Sienna was the stronger of the two narratives but found myself enjoying Nick’s rather brief view’s more.

Nick was definitely the book boyfriend to watch out for in this novel. Tattoos, military, muscles, protective… this might be just me but a sexy limp… Yep.

ETA: I usually do not go back and make huge additions to my reviews after they are posted. But the author posted something relevant about NOT ANOTHER SOLDIER, and gave me permission to post it my review.

Many reviewers, mostly American, complained about the military terms used in NOT ANOTHER SOLDIER. Mainly that in the novel Nick is a marine yet he was called a soldier (just take a peek at the title), and that Sienna considered herself an ‘army’ wife. I did notice this too, but I decided to ignore it because the author is from Britain and is a wife of a ex-military man. The military branches are different over in the UK than in the US. But these reviewers were quite loud and gave NOT ANOTHER SOLDIER an one star just because of the misunderstanding of these terms.

Holt has now responded about the issue in her blog. The rundown is that the ebook of NOT ANOTHER SOLDIER will be changed so Nick is no longer a marine. To learn more from the author about the decision, please visit her blog.

Worst part: Head hopping

Best part: Sexual tension

Grade: B

Recommend For: Lovers of military romance

Other Books by This Author: To Steal A Highlander’s Heart and Borderland Bride

spoon

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Borderland Legacy - Author Photo

Samantha lives in a small village in England with her gorgeous twin girls and husband who is a trained bodyguard and ex-soldier (Yes, seriously!). She traditionally writes historical romances involving chivalrous knights and hot highlanders, but occasionally dabbles in contemporary romance. When she reluctantly leaves her computer, she enjoys exploring old ruins and indulging an early midlife crisis. Adrenaline filled suggestions for the bucket list are always welcome!

FOLLOW LINKS

Find Samantha on Facebook

TOUR GIVEAWAY

Prizes
1 Paperback copy of Not Another Soldier
3 x $2.99 ebook of readers choice

CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY

Tour Hosted By:
myfamilyheartbutton

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour- Not Another Soldier by Samanatha Holt- Author Interview + Review

Leave a Reply

