REVIEW: Santa’s Cookie Elf by Richard Thomas Parrette Jr

I RECEIVED A FREE COPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW.

Title: Santa’s Cookie Elf
Author: Richard Thomas Parrette Jr
Year of Publication: 2013
Genre: Childrens
Format: Ebook
Length: 32 pages
First Line: “I was late on Christmas Eve, about midnight I do believe.”

Summary: Christmas is a magical time of the year. Santa’s toy factory builds a lot of toys for children all over the world. His flying reindeer help him deliver all those toys in one night and at every house the kids leave Santa their favorite cookies. Wow! That has to be millions and millions of cookies. Now if elves help build the toys, and flying reindeer get Santa to every house in one night, ever wonder if someone helps him eat all those cookies?

Review: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.

SANTA’S COOKIE ELF asked the question I never worried about during my childhood: ‘How does Santa Claus eat all those cookies in one night?’ Honestly, it never once came to my me. Blew my mind that this book addressed this ‘issue’. I supposed at least one kid was wondering how Santa ate every cookie in the world and still kept his figure or how else would this book exist? However, the answer to the question actually depressed me a little as an adult (how weird was that). Santa isn’t eating all your cookies, kids (What? But… but Santa). It’s really an elf with a magic tummy.

The author wrote this book like the famous poem A VISIT FROM ST. NICHOLAS. It had the same rhyming pattern and in some cases the similar subject matter (like the first line). Reading this to a child would be fun if you read it like A VISIT FROM ST. NICHOLAS. It would be familiar to them and they’d enjoy it more. I noticed some editing errors but since I received the book from Net Galley I think this could be written off.

The pictures were great. Simple yet really detailed. They were the kind of pictures that I remember my teachers would us as examples so we could learn attention to detail and such. I read this on my Kindle, so everything was in black and white. The normal version would be a lot better.

At the end of the book there’s four different cookie recipes ( sugar cookie, snicckerdoodles, gingerbread men, and jelly bean cookies) that adults and kids could make to leave for the Cookie Elf. Yum! I love a book with recipes!

Worst part: I never wondered how Santa all ate all those cookies. Cause… you know, Santa ate tons of cookies in one night and was fat. Plus, he’s Santa. He’s amazing. He could get into my house that didn’t have a chimney and give me toys; he can eat all the cookies he wants.

Best part: Recipes. Nom nom nom. And the illustrations.

Grade: B

Recommend For: It’s a nice book to add to a kid’s Christmas book collection. Teachers to read in their class.

Other Books by This Author: None

Leave a Reply

