Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

I have been turning this over since I first saw this topic. Top Ten Books I Was Forced To Read? Is this supposed to be negative? Forced makes it seem so. But our overlords add doesn’t necessarily have to be a BAD thing. Hmmm. I’m going to take it as required school reading that has stood out to me over the years. Okay, maybe I am stretching it? But this week’s topic seems like it will be taken differently by everyone.

Some of these books I don’t remember the titles of because I read them in elementary school and will attempt to describe them. If you think you might know which book I am talking about, that’d be fab!

(in no order)

10. The BFG by Roald Dahl Okay, this one only half counts I guess. Our school librarian started this one with us at the end of the year, but since it was, well, the year of the school year we had to stop at some point at that some point was not even in the middle of the book. I loved the book up to that point so what was a girl to do but ask her mom to buy a copy so she can read it?

9. The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka I think this was the first book that made me realize that traditional stories could have a different point of view. My love of retelling was born.

8. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt This was so magical and perfect.

7. ??? by ??? Read this one in 3rd grade I think. Only thing I remember is that the town’s molasses factory explodes and covers/drowns the town in molasses. Have a clue what I am talking about?

6. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson This is one of my all time favorite books. It addresses a lot of ‘grown-up/serious/ issues but these children were able to create something so special and it was fantastic. Lots of levels to this novel. It’s amazing.

5. ??? by ??? This one is a bit depressing. We read it in our reading textbook in 4th grade. I don’t remember the cover or title. It could have been a short story or part of a larger story since it was in the textbook. The story is set in Japan, years (maybe like 10-30 years?) after WW2 when America dropped the bomb. People in the area (I am saying area because I don’t remember if the family lived near Hiroshima and Nagasaki) were still feeling the affects after all this time. A little girl, around 8 years old is the focus of the story. She was born a long time after WW2 yet contracted Leukemia due to the radiation from the A-bombs. In the story she was in the hospital and made a ton of paper cranes in hope to get better, which was part of the focus of the story. I feel like the crane thing might be in the title. Eventually though, the girl dies. How depressing. Anyone think they know what I am talking about?

ETA: Lost in a Great Book named it! Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes by Eleanor Coerr.

4. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling Thank you Mrs. Truitt! We weren’t sure what to read next and you asked, ‘Has anyone read Harry Potter’? And when the entire class had no one what you were on about, you fixed that. Thank you.

3. ??? by ??? There was this book we read in 5th grade or 4th grade. I remember the cover had a teenage/pre-teen black boy dressed in ranch clothes, cowboy hat, flahnnel, jeans. He was holding a burger and behind him was like a fence and an orange farm/desert. In the book he was like a city kid going to his uncle’s cow ranch so the summer and at the ranch they made burgers. Remember that ‘cow chips’ was in our vocab for the book. lol. Anyone think they know this one?

2. Catherine, Called Birdy by Karen Cushman Loved this book. Even bought a copy after we finished it in school. The period in history, the humor, the romance. Loved it all.

1. I Have Lived a Thousand Years: Growing Up in the Holocaust by Livia Bitton-Jackson This book was my first look at the Holocaust. It was eye-opening and stuck with me for years. Wasn’t until recently that I remembered the title. I want to read it again.

BTW, question for all of you. Would you prefer if I added links for the books I listed?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

  1. I loved The BFG, but then I loved all things Roald Dahl 😀 I like to have a link to the book if I want to check it out. Then it’s just easier to click on the link and go straight to a page about it rather than look it up, but of course, it’s up to you!

  2. Okay, I literally gasped and covered my mouth at #5 because WHAM that was some childhood feels right there. Oh the pain. I had totally forgotten about this one, but I knew exactly what you were talking about even before I saw the title.

    Wow that was such a good book. Though quite depressing for 10 year old me.

    • I remember being so confused as a 9 year old. Never heard of WW2 or the A-Bomb before. I kept asking my parents why would we do this? And they just gave me half-assed answers. We have discussions in class about it. It was… an eye-opener.
      Glad that I refreshed your memory. I am planning to reread it sometime in the future. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

