Blog Tour – Tears of Tears by Pepper Winters – Promo, Giveaway & Review

Tears-of-Tess-Tour-Banner

ToTTitle: Tears of Tess by Pepper Winters
Release Date: September 9th, 2013
Genre: Dark New Adult Romance
Goodreads
Video
Cover Design by Cover It Designs

Blurb

A New Adult Dark Contemporary Romance, not suitable for people sensitive to grief, slavery, and nonconsensual sex. A story about finding love in the strangest of places, a will of iron that grows from necessity, and forgiveness that may not be enough.

“My life was complete. Happy, content, everything neat and perfect.
Then it all changed.
I was sold.”

Tess Snow has everything she ever wanted: one more semester before a career in property development, a loving boyfriend, and a future dazzling bright with possibility.

For their two year anniversary, Brax surprises Tess with a romantic trip to Mexico. Sandy beaches, delicious cocktails, and soul-connecting sex set the mood for a wonderful holiday. With a full heart, and looking forward to a passion filled week, Tess is on top of the world.

But lusty paradise is shattered.

Kidnapped. Drugged. Stolen. Tess is forced into a world full of darkness and terror.

Captive and alone with no savior, no lover, no faith, no future, Tess evolves from terrified girl to fierce fighter. But no matter her strength, it can’t save her from the horror of being sold.

Can Brax find Tess before she’s broken and ruined, or will Tess’s new owner change her life forever?

Giveaway Information

Tour Wide Giveaway of an unsigned copy of Tears of Tess (International)

Tears of Tess Blog Tour Giveaway

7151973Author Bio

Writer, reader, sometimes wife. An avid devourer of sexy romance and angsty New Adult. Nothing beats lolling in a bubble bath with her array of book boyfriends, and plotting torturous stories to put her characters through.
Living Down Under means she writes in the Queen’s English, not Obama’s, and aims to have an entire catalogue of sexy books that keep you wanting more. Oh, and she may or may not be in love with Q from Tears of Tess.

Author Links

Facebook / Goodreads / Website / Twitter


submit to qREVIEW

I RECEIVED A FREE COPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW.

Format: Ebook
Length: 377 pages
First Line: “Three little words.”

Review: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.

TESS OF TESS came about right when I needed it to. I was craving a story (as messed up as this sounds) with sexual slavery and a love relationship between a Master and Slave. Pepper Winters had the guts to write this. I thank you, ma’am.

Tess and Q were two people who met under bad circumstances (oh you know the old story, girl was kidnapped by sex slave traders in Mexico, sold to her Master in France…) and happened to be perfect for each other.

“I believed fully I was made for him and he was made for me. Two halves of the same fuckedupness. Two souls from the same twisted desires, unable to fully be free until we found each other.”
-Ch. 24, TEARS OF TESS, Pepper Winters

This story was pure crack. I could not put this book down. I was always eager to find out what was going to happen next. I was constantly surprised, which as a reader was an amazing feeling. Brilliantly crafted characters like Q kept me wanting more; I loved that besides Tess, it was difficult to figure out exactly what others motives were, that people kept their feelings close to their chest. It was amazing to read as more was revealed to try and figure things out with Tess.

And the sex. Oh, the sex. TEARS OF TESS was the first erotica book that I have fully enjoyed. Winters knows how to write amazing sex scenes. Wow.

Typically, I hate things written in first person, but my GOD in TEARS FOR TESS it worked. By writing this novel in first person, Winters was able to intimately take you through Tess’ rocky relationship with her boyfriend Brax, her frightening kidnapping in Mexico, getting Stockholm and the steamy sex scenes with Q! It was a fantastic choice and I applaud her for it. This would have been a totally different novel if it had been written in my preferred third person.

I disliked the epilogue with Q. Something I had adored throughout the novel was being boggled by this mysterious man. I felt that the epilogue gave too much of his back story, and therefore the mystery, away. I also did not enjoy the back and forth of the ‘past’ and ‘present’ in the epilogue. Besides, TEARS OF TESS was Tess’ novel, not Q’s. I felt like the flow had been disrupted by the epilogue.

I don’t necessarily agree with the characters’ view on the BDSM lifestyle. Because of this, I had trouble relating to their point of views. In short, in my opinion, being into BDSM doesn’t make you ‘wrong’ or a ‘monster’. It’s what you are into. Plenty of people have healthy BDSM relationships and every day. Tess and Q however, thought that their life style was ‘wrong’ but enjoyed the hell out of it anyway. Now, that’s the beauty of characters and everyone having different opinions. Tess and Q certainly aren’t me. Pepper Winters isn’t me. But nevertheless, throughout the novel, I was like ‘huh?’ and it bothered me that Tess and Q were not completely comfortable in their sexual relationship.

(While on the BDSM subject, there are some parts that might make some people squeamish. There’s flogging, ropes, blindfolds, and lots more. So if something comes up that you don’t like… Just skip it.)

Something I thought that was rather interesting was that Brax, Tess’ boyfriend who was sexually conservative had a nontraditional name, while Quincy, Tess’ Master had a stuffy name but was very open to anything new when it came to sex. Not sure if that was done on purpose.

Every chapter is subtitled with the name of a different bird. I couldn’t figure out a pattern or why Winters chose which bird each chapter. Does anyone else have any ideas?

Did I ever mention how much I love the cover? It’s so simple and powerful. Beautiful.

I typically don’t reread books, but I could see myself reading TEARS OF TESS again in the future. This series has become a slight obsession. I will be reading the sequel QUINTESSENTIALLY Q when it comes out.

Worst Part: The epilogue.

Best Part: I can’t spoil that! But… Chapter 24 was the best part. Maybe also every time the word ‘esclave‘ was used.

Grade: B / 4 Stars

Recommend For: People who like BDSM, sexual slavery, love/hate relationships, and perhaps Fifty Shades of Grey (I can’t say for sure on the last one since I have never and will never read it. And Please don’t send me angry comments and emails demanding me to read it. I won’t).

Other Books by This Author: This was the author’s debut novel, but she will be releasing the sequel ‘Quintessentially Q’!

One thought on “Blog Tour – Tears of Tears by Pepper Winters – Promo, Giveaway & Review

Leave a Reply

