Top Ten Books That You Wish Were Taught In Schools

toptentuesday

Top Ten Books That You Wish Were Taught In Schools

All the books listed are banned or challenged and were taught to me in school. It surprises me that so many were taught to me, since I was raised in a rural area and went to a really horrible, poorly funded school district (like really. The worst in the state, I’m not kidding). I chose banned/challenged books because a lot of students never get a chance to read them in school anyway.

Besides, I keep thinking of people like my husband who ended up disliking reading because of required reading in schools. Therefore, I didn’t want to pick out my favorite books and say they should be ‘taught’ only for people like my hubby to grow to hate reading because of those books. Really stupid I know. Especially since this list is for fun. But, there you have it.

(in no order)

10) Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson This still stands to be my favorite middle grade book of all time.

9) To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee I don’t think enough people appreciate this book.

8 The Witches by Roald Dahl I remember how much this book scared me as a child. There really isn’t a ‘true’ happy ending. I think kids need that sometimes.

7) Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling I will always be grateful that my 6th grade teacher asked our class one day if anyone had ever heard of Harry Potter. She was completely shocked when no one raised their hand so we read books 1-3 in class. Those were probably the most fun books to read while school.

6) A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle Loved this book at the time, but years later I grew to dislike it (I really don’t know why). I thought this one was fun, sci-fi-ish adventure that you usually don’t get.

5) Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck Read this a minimum of three times while in high school for different classes. *shakes head* It’s a good book by Steinbeck (only one I’ve kind of liked so far) and the quotes…

4) Frankenstein by Mary Shelley A thought-provoking classic.

3) Call of the Wild by Jack London I had a strange love/hate relationship with this book. Didn’t enjoy the plot line but I loved the characters. I remember being heartbroken when my favorite dogs died.

2) The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton Okay, honestly I hated this book. Still hate it. But it’s that kind of hate that can bring people together.

1) Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi I read this one in college, but it counts, right? It’s a beautiful story that teaches you a lot about the world.

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by The Broke and Bookish

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That You Wish Were Taught In Schools

  1. Ooh, I forgot graphic novels. One or two of those absolutely need to make it into the curriculum. It’s sad that so many of your classmates missed HP–glad that teacher helped bridge the gap.

Leave a Reply

