REVIEW: The Choice by Nicholas Sparks *SPOILER ALERT* & ANNOUNCEMENT

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR THE PLOT AND SOME SARCASM (sorry about that)

531350Title: The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Year of Publication: 2007
Genre: Romance
Format: Audio Book
Length: 4 hours and 54 mins
First Line: “Stories are as unique as the people who tell them, and the best stories are those in which the ending is a surprise.”

Summary: Travis Parker has everything a man could want: a good job, loyal friends, even a waterfront home in small-town North Carolina. In full pursuit of the good life — boating, swimming, and regular barbecues with his good-natured buddies — he holds the vague conviction that a serious relationship with a woman would only cramp his style. That is, until Gabby Holland moves in next door. Despite his attempts to be neighborly, the appealing redhead seems to have a chip on her shoulder about him…and the presence of her longtime boyfriend doesn’t help. Despite himself, Travis can’t stop trying to ingratiate himself with his new neighbor, and his persistent efforts lead them both to the doorstep of a journey that neither could have foreseen. Spanning the eventful years of young love, marriage and family, The Choice ultimately confronts us with the most heartwrenching question of all: how far would you go to keep the hope of love alive?

Review: This was my first time ever reading a Nicholas Sparks book. So I had no idea what his writing would be like. And then of course I just read other reviews that stated this this isn’t a book that they’d give their friend if they wanted the said friend to get into Nicholas Sparks. And frankly, I agree with their assessment. This book wasn’t fantastic. It was just okay. A nice thing about this book was that it’s a light read. A bad thing about this book is that it is hugely unrealistic.

 photo riversong_spoilers_zps9b5248ee.gif

*SPOILERS*

The main characters fall deeply in love with each other over the course of one weekend. Literally, two days and boom they’re in love. Then we find out that Travis and Gabby have been married rather happily for 11 years since that weekend. Is that in anyway realistic?

Travis’ “choice” was if he should take Gabby off life support since she’s been in a coma for 3 months. What bothered me was the doctors move Gabby to the nursing home where the coma patients who were likely not to come out were sent, and after she had been there for a week, Gabby woke up. Deus ex machina anyone?

It just seemed so silly that everything (minus Gabby going into a coma) works out so perfectly for this couple. I really hope this is not a trend in other Nicholas Sparks books. That being said, and that this was the first book by Sparks I have read, I am willing and look forward to reading another one of his books in the future.

Worst part: Can I have some realistic stuff, please? No? Then I guess I’ll take this book.

Best part: That a man could write this kind of stuff.

Grade: C

Recommend For: Those who like books set in North Carolina or if you are thinking of which Nicholas Sparks book to try out first

Other Books by This Author: The Notebook and Dear John.

ANNOUNCEMENT

There will be no review on Friday. I’m moving that day. Thank you all for understanding. Tune in on Monday for our regularly scheduled program! 🙂

-Megan

9 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Choice by Nicholas Sparks *SPOILER ALERT* & ANNOUNCEMENT

  1. This one is actually one of my favorites, but I agree it is a little unrealistic at points but I’m a sucker for happy endings. Don’t worry not all of his have them, this was the exception. 🙂 I’d recommend The Last Song and The Best of Me!! They are fabulous!

    • I have read all of Nicolas sparks books and seen all 11 movies. I love all of them. I don’t mind at all that they are unrealistic or unreasonable. Ive lived life , and had the disappointment of very few things going perfectly. As I’m sure everyone has. I love watching a movie or reading a book were there’s a perfect happy ending. I think it lets me have more hope in life.

  2. Haha his books are a bit unreasonable. I’ve read 6 so far and after reading them I understand why they’re fiction. But to Sparks defense I have read/bought 6, and plan on buying more so I guess he’s doing something right. Unrealistic yet beautifully written books. My suggestion if you’re into the extremely romantic(unrealistic): Message in a Bottle. I enjoyed it dont get me wrong, but not my favorite(Last Song)

  3. I agree. I read this book 3 years ago and couldn’t even tell you what it’s about now. I’ve read a lot of Nicholas Sparks and I woukd recommend one of his newest books, The Longest Ride!

  4. I am a sucker for happy endings so I actually liked this. It was refreshing to me bc most of his books *spoiler* don’t have happy endings for characters (walk to remember, message in a bottle, nights in rodanthe, etc.) which makes me wonder why they have made some movies and put them out for Valentine’s Day (awkward).

  5. I have read every book. The Wedding was one of my favorites , but I think the one that left the most impact was “The Best of Me”.

  6. If you don’t like fancy wrapped up fairy tale endings, then you will enjoy pretty much every other book of his. This was about the ONE exception. I expected her to die. LOL. So funny that this was the first book of his you read.

Leave a Reply

